Institute Professor Daron Acemoglu Wins A.SK Social Science Award | MIT News

Daron Acemoglu, Institute Professor and the Elizabeth and James Killian Professor of Economics in MIT’s College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, is the 2023 recipient of the WZB Berlin Social Science Middle’s A.SK Social Science Award, one of the crucial extremely endowed worldwide awards within the social sciences.

Acemoglu acquired the award for “his vastly influential work on, amongst others, the decisive position of establishments in capitalist economies, on the forces of states and societies which should negotiate a steadiness in an effort to guarantee liberty, and on the makes use of and dangers of automation.” 

In saying the award, the worldwide jury praised Acemoglu’s elementary contributions to labor economics, macroeconomics, and political financial system.

“As his analysis strikes throughout each political science and economics, Daron Acemoglu has turn out to be a number one skilled on the determinants of financial progress,” the worldwide jury wrote.

“I’m extremely honored and humbled to have been chosen because the recipient of the A.SK Social Science Award,” Acemoglu says. “The WZB has been unwavering in its help for and promotion of high-quality social science, and I take into account myself fortunate and privileged to have been included of their illustrious roster of earlier recipients.”

Acemoglu started educating at MIT in 1993, and has been honored all through his distinguished profession for his work in macroeconomics, political financial system, labor economics, improvement economics, and financial idea. Acemoglu co-leads the MIT Shaping the Way forward for Work Initiative, alongside MIT economists Professor David Autor and Professor Simon Johnson.

Earlier this yr, Acemoglu printed “Energy and Progress: Our 1000-Yr Wrestle Over Expertise and Prosperity,” co-written with Simon Johnson. Acemoglu has warned of the potential social, financial, and political hurt of permitting AI to go unregulated.

The A.SK Social Science award is endowed with 100,000 euros. Acemoglu will obtain the award at a livestreamed ceremony in Berlin on Nov. 14.

Previous recipients of the award embody MIT economist Esther Duflo, the Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Improvement Economics within the Division of Economics, and a co-founder and co-director of the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Motion Lab (J-PAL), who acquired the glory in 2015.

Leave a Comment